This One’s For The Girls

Life

I am feeling very clever about this post title, obviously referring to the Martina McBride hit from 2003. In reality, this post is for the current women of country music.

I should recognize the ladies like Martina, Faith Hill, Sara Evans, and Gretchen Wilson who rocked country music in their prime (literally). But I felt like we went through a stretch with a very few females on country radio.

Don’t get me wrong, we were all good with Kenny Chesney, Tim McGraw, Brad Paisley, Keith Urban, Big & Rich, the list goes on . . .

But now, the ladies are BACK, and dare I say better than before?

Check them out:

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 9.47.40 PM.png

This photo is from Carrie’s instagram account. I am biased, but I think Carrie makes for a very fine cheesehead!

First up, an obvious one: Carrie Underwood. Carrie has been around the country scene for quite some time (I was in high school when she won season four of American Idol). When I think Carrie, I think #goals . . . and vice versa. From her adorable family, to her super healthy lifestyle and CALIA fitness line, to all of her music, Carrie is theeee woman. I love her newest album, Storyteller. One of my favorite songs on it is a hidden gem called Relapse. It’s so dramatic but Carrie’s talented vocal chords are totally right for it.

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 9.51.46 PM

On a scale of 1-perfect Miranda is nothing less than a 10! I love this instagram picture she recently posted.

Miranda Lambert absolutely must come second on this list because she is my other role model of sorts. She has the perfect way of being girly and tough at the same time and I love that about her. Miranda consistently keeps it real with her songs and her style. Platinum is the name of Miranda’s newest album; it’s also the name of my favorite song on it.

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 9.56.26 PM

Kacey definitely has a unique style. I love that she often wears boots.

I got to see Kacey Musgraves a few months ago, and have really come to appreciate her as an artist! I love her entire album, Pageant Material. Kacey is an exceptionally clever song writer, and a talented singer too. One favorite song of hers is This Town, although picking just one favorite was tough!

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 10.07.32 PM.png

I love this picture from Kelsea’s instagram.

My girl Kelsea Ballerini is near and dear to my heart. I got to see her (FO FREE!) last summer, I bought her album, and I feel like I was among her first fans. I think that Kelsea is adorable, classy, and significantly talented! Besides her singles already released to the radio, I totally love her song Yeah Boy.

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 10.14.18 PM.png

This picture, from Maren’s instagram account, makes me want to see Maren live!

My very newest favorite female country artist is a lovely lady named Maren Morris. So far her only song on the radio is “My Church”but she has other great songs too like Drunk Girls Don’t Cry. I am so excited to see what this girl is going to do!

Leave a Reply

