March Health Tips

Health

We’ve made it to March and it’s time for more health tips from the POPSUGAR article of “supereasy” health resolutions.

  1. Remember the breath
    Bring me back to college yoga! The instructor would constantly remind us to be mindful; to remember the breath. I find that mindfulness of breathing is helpful when I am doing cardio workouts. Mindful breathing is also important during stressful situations at work or even driving in the snow! Breathing deeply can send signals to your brain to calm down. Smiling has a similar effect.
  2. Stretch while watching TV
    Two thoughts here:
    Thought One: I am a big fan of stretching and I believe everyone could benefit from a few stretches every day based on body type, medical history, and job type. For example, I have weak hips so I need to stretch my hips regularly; I also have an office job so I stretch my neck after work.
    Thought Two: Love the idea to combine TV and fitness. Another option is to follow this workout while watching the Bachelor.
  3. Drink coffee without sweetener
    I have the biggest sweet tooth of all and I was able to switch from coffee with a lot of flavored cream to coffee with just a little nonfat milk. Now, I prefer my coffee with plain milk and I save many calories and grams of sugar every single day!
  4. Eat slowly
    Eating slowly helps your body know when it’s really full. Especially if I’m eating a small meal or snack, I try to drink lots of water, too, which slows down the eating process and helps me to fee fuller.

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 9.55.22 PM.png

Leave a Reply

