Pageant Material: An Album Revue

Life

Did you catch what I did there with Kacey Musgrave’s album “revue”? This post is in honor of Kacey’s most recent album, “Pageant Material,” and her “Country and Western Rhinestone Revue” tour.

The album begins with “High Time,” a catchy and clever song with an ode to unwinding. You can’t not hum along.

Next up is the adorable “Dime Store Cowgirl,” and as a small town girl I can relate. “You can take me out of the country, but you can’t take the country out of me… I still call my hometown home.”

Kacey slows down the pace with “Late to the Party,” where she pulls off being sassy and sweet at the same time. Not everyone can achieve this art, but Kacey nails it!

The album’s namesake, “Pageant Material,” comes next. Once again you will find me singing along with an occasional “amen sista.” Because I ain’t pageant material either, and “it ain’t that I don’t care about world peace; but I don’t see how I can fix it in a swimsuit on a stage” (Can I get an amen sista?!)

My current favorite is next. Listen to the small town chatter before the singing starts in “This Town.” I find these lyrics to be so dang relatable! My small town has a good Mexican restaurant and a beauty salon and a zip code but it’s too small to be mean (cuz somebody’s mama knoes somebody’s cousin) and “around here we look out for each other.”

You may already know the next song, “Biscuits,” and if you don’t know it yet, you’re missing out! Another song with classic and cunning and clever lyrics, Kacey reminds us all that “pouring salt in my sugar won’t make yours any sweeter!”

The next song is called “Somebody To Love.” I think it’s among the most vulnerable songs on the album. It’s slow and sweet and honest; “we’re all hoping, we’re all hopeless…and just searching for somebody to love.”

The next song, “Miserable,” is another melancholy tune.  The lyrics are soft but confrontational, “you ain’t happy unless you’re miserable.” The song is fascinating as it combines misery with a on upbeat but honest tune.

“Die Fun” is a song about living it up since “we can’t do it over…all were gettin is older… so let’s love hard, live fast, die fun.” What a humbling reminder that life on earth only lasts an unknown amount of time. I say it again, amen sista!

Awe man do I love “Family Is Family!” Listen to all the lyrics on this honest and perfectly imperfect song. “Friends come in handy, but family is family… and you love’me.”

I catch Miranda Lambert vibes off of “Good Ol’ Boys Club.” I actually read one article that Miranda and Kacey used to write songs together in Texas and Miranda ended up begging Kacey to have “Mama’s Broken Heart” and Kacey agreed as long as she could sing harmony. Cool story? I think so. 🙂

“Cup of Tea” is another upbeat, honest tune. “Nobody’s everybody’s favorite,” which is truly a good point that also fits very well in this album.

A sad, slow song called “Fine” comes next. “Just like the circus, you always leave town…but I leave the light on… I’ve stopped counting sheep, now I just count the days…”

Willie Nelson is featured in the next song, “Are You Sure.” The duo takes turns singing lines, “are you sure this is where you want to be” with instrumental breaks between lines, maybe for contemplation.  It’s as sweet as it is straight country and western.

And that, my friends, completes my review of the album! I would highly recommend taking a listen to this sweet, sassy, sarcastic, soulful set of songs. (Can you tell that Kacey’s alliteration is rubbing off on me? I think I could take a few lessons from her.)

 

Leave a Reply

