CMAs 2015 Reviewed

Uncategorized

CMA 2015 awards have begun!

The opening sketch is a tribute to Star Wars and they just made a joke about Garth Vader. This. Is. Awesome.

Hank Jr. is singing with Eric Church. #HankAndEric is literally hashtagged on Hank’s guitar. Love it! Visualize: a bunch of old guys in aviators, with the American flag in the background; this looks real fitting to kick off this year’s country awards show.

John Mellencamp is singing “Ain’t That America” with Keith Urban. My roommate wants to know who did John’s hair. I want to know how Keith is so PERFECT all the time. As an obviously perfect segue, Keith has busted into “John Cougar, John Wayne, John 3:16.” Keith’s wing-man’s harmony is not quite on point though. On another note, Megan is sue she has the same outfit Keith is currently wearing – a scoop neck white tank top, a black blazer, and black skinny jeans. Classic for either gender, I guess.

Carrie and Brad are back on stage. THEY JUST SAID CRAY-CRAY and NAY-NAY! And threw Josh Duggar under the bus. I love when Carrie and Brad sing little jingles together. I had to hold my breath when they talked about Blake and Miranda (Love you both #4eva) but we are off to a good start.

Single of the Year goes to: Girl Crush! Little Big Town wins a big award and I am so happy and proud of them! The band looks awesome and they are so happy. Other thoughts on this moment: I’m not surprised this song won, Karen gave a great speech, and Kimberly has a very muscular back (YOU GO GIRL).

Next up is a performance by Zac Brown Band. ZAC BROWN IS NOT WEARING A HAT! Zac and his bald head are on center stage singing a song I don’t know- Beautiful Drug. I am liking what I’m hearing.

Kenny Chesney’s performance is next. He has a beach vibe on stage which is so perfect for him, the King of Summer. Kenny’s wearing a classic outfit of gray pants, a black polo and a standard Kenny cowboy hat. He’s singing “Save It For A Rainy Day” and it sounds good. I am convinced that Kenny’s having the time of his life on stage right now.

Sign me up for #SamHunting. I have such a real crush on him. He’s wearing a black shirt with a white collar, though, and it kind of looks like one of those priest outfits. Even so, Sam, you are rocking the priest look. I swear he knows he is adorable; he has this smile between phrases. You can “Take My Time” any time.

Song of the Year: Girl Crush wins again. This time we are honoring Liz Rose, Lori McKenna, and Hillary Lindsey.

Quick shout-out to my favorite so far of Carrie’s outfits. Her dress is beautiful. It’s long, flowy, and a very dainty light purple color. Carrie tweeted earlier today that she has TWELVE outfits for the day.

Little Big Town takes the stage, this time to perform. They’re singing “Girl Crush” and their outfits are weird. Picture a lot of shiny silver and black sparkles and that’s their outfits. Their harmonies are on point, though, and that’s what we’re here to care about.

New Artist of the Year: Chris Stapleton. I WANT A RE-COUNT! Literally my last choice AND I don’t even know who he is. What does he sing? And that is a terrible hat. I would have preferred any of the others (Sam Hunt, Maddie & Tae, Kelsea Ballerini, Thomas Rhett).

I have been waiting for this moment! Carrie Underwood is performing “Smoke Break.” She is wearing fringe and over-the-heel boots, which is so 2015. She blows me away every time she performs. Talk about a girl crush. Per usual, Carrie looks AND sounds flawless.

Mystery Man/New Winner Chris Stapleton is singing “Tennessee Whiskey” with JT himself. Didn’t see that one coming. You know what, though? They rocked it, so good for them. Our featured unlikely duo is now singing “Drink You Away.” The performance is heating up and everybody’s loving it.

Florida Georgia Line is performing “Confession.” The song is new to me and I like it. The stage is set up like a dusty old church; their outfits look like they just walk of The Hunger Games which even includes Brian rocking a feather necklace (?). Shout out to Tyler for rocking the man bun though (side note, I googled to see if “man bun” was supposed to by hyphenated).

Dynamic Duo Of The Year goes to FGL and I am a happy girl. Way to go!

Eric Church is singing a brand new one-Mr. Misunderstood. I think this song is perfect for this rebellious rockstar. Eric’s wearing a leather jacket, aviators and jeans-staying true to his classic look.

Thomas Rhett is playing “Crash and Burn.” He has a cool back and white stairwell vibe going on complete with dancers and HEY WAIT Fall Out Boy is totally dueting this up with Thomas right now. The duet has shifted to Uma Thurman.

You have got to be freaking kidding me; Album of the Year goes to Chris Stapleton. But who is Chris Stapleton?

Kelsea Ballereini gets a quick second on stage. I can’t tell if she’s wearing a romper or a dress but it’s a high-low ensemble, and she’s singing “Love Me Like You Mean It.” She looks beautiful and so natural on stage.

Brad Paisley is rocking “Country Nation” as his voice sounds perfect and a set of bleachers behind him are filled with college mascots. In typical Brad form there is a lot of guitar playing. Brad is wearing a football jersey himself.

Blake Shelton is singing “Gonna” and he’s all dressed up in a white shirt, black vest and black tie. He cleans up NICE. Not to be critical, but Blake’s performance was very nice without any WOW factors.

We are graced with an excerpt from Maddie and Tae’s “Girl In A Country Song.” I can’t believe how confident these ladies are looking on stage. I’m also laughing at Tae’s name embroidered on her guitar strap.

Can I be honest? I miss the OLD Luke. Tonight he is singing “Strip It Down” and his hair has gel in it and he’s wearing a collared shirt and dress pants. LUKE BRYAN, I MISS YOUR BASEBALL HAT AND JEANS AND ORIGINAL SONGS. I mean I’m not hating what I’m seeing/hearing but I truly miss the old you.

The Vocal Group of the Year award goes to Little Big Town! I am so proud of them as a dedicated fan from the beginning.

My home girl is performing! Miranda has a blonde-pink ombre hair style with a jean jacket and black skinny jeans. Her guitar is pink, too! She’s singing “Bathroom Sink.” I am surprised by the song choice but Miranda can seriously do no wrong.

Jason Aldean is wearing his typical cowboy hat and short-sleeved plaid button down. He’s singing “Gonna Know We Were Here.”

I love Kacey Musgraves. She is singing “Dime Store Cowgirl.” A daring and unique performance, Kacey has a cartoon vibe of a slideshow background. She’s wearing a sparkle leotard and white cowboy boots. Her voice sounds like honey and her stage presence is nothing short of lovely. She has five men in her band, all wearing pink suits with sparkle collars. I’m serious, though, it WORKS.

Dierks Bently is singing “Riser” with Lindsey Stirling (my roommate had to introduce Lindsey to me; sorry I’m not extremely rounded when it comes to violinists).

Female Vocalists of the Year Nominees: Kelsea Ballerini, Miranda Lambert, Kacey Musgraves, Carrie Underwood, and Le Ann Womack. Tonight’s winner is Miranda Lambert! MY GURL! “Little Red Wagon” is playing in the background and Miranda’s wearing a casual outfit. She gives a really simple and humble thank you speech.

Brooks and Dunn and Reba are performing together. They’re performing “Why Haven’t I Heard From You.” Reba is truly adorable, for a lady I can’t stand! Looks like we have a mash-up because now Brooks and Dunn have taken the lead with “Play Something Country.”

Male Vocalist of the Year Nominees: Dierks Bentley, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Blake Shelton, Chris Stapleton. Chris Stapleton won and he might be as dumbfounded as the rest of us. I’m not sure at this point, if I’m more angry or confused by the way Chris is sweeping up these awards. I mean good for him but this is seriously not right.

Entertainer of the Year Nominees: Eric, Kenny, Miranda, Garth. The winner is Luke Bryan. Awe, he seems so very happy so I’m happy too.

Closing thoughts: I enjoyed the show minus a few unexpected award winners. And that’s a wrap!

Leave a Reply

