A Review On Making The Most Of Your Twenties

Life

I love reading blogs, and one blog I’ve recently discovered is Career Girl Daily. Because I’m new to CGD I just today found one of their articles from February, called How to make the most of your twenties. I figured that would be a good post for me to read, cuz hey-I’m in my twenties! And I want to make the most of them!

The following ten items are the tips as posted (all credit to Beth from CGD) and the review is mine.

I love working out on the weekends! I have to recommend buying yourself some earbuds or headphones that won't fall out (so that you can't hear yourself "huffing and puffing")!

I love working out on the weekends! I have to recommend buying yourself some earbuds or headphones that won’t fall out (so that you can’t hear yourself “huffing and puffing”)!

  1. Try to start healthy habits. I like how she said TRY because sometimes us twenty-somethings go to concerts and they typically start at like 10pm so sometimes by 3am you’re starved and the 24 hour diner has omelets. But in all seriousness, now is the time to start healthy habits and I’m so glad I have made my health a priority-and now a lifestyle that I quite enjoy.

    Truly this guitar is a beauty. With campfire season coming up, I've gotta brush up on my skills (and by BRUSH UP, I mean ACQUIRE skills).

    Truly this guitar is a beauty. With campfire season coming up, I’ve gotta brush up on my skills (and by BRUSH UP, I mean ACQUIRE skills).

  2. Learn new things. I swear I’m not going to make all ten points be about the gym. But I did learn a lot through my training program. On another note, I bought a guitar last summer so I have some major learning-opportunities in that department. Oh, and I am constantlyyyyyy learning at work (on so many levels).
  3. Follow your dreams. Am I the only one whose dreams tend to change 24/7? Apparently dream-following is something I need to figure out in the next few years…

    Mockingjay, anyone? This dressing room situation might have had us laughing harder than ever.

    Mockingjay, anyone? This dressing room situation had us laughing harder than ever.

  4. Find your true friends. Found ’em! Without name-dropping I’m just gonna say that (1) family is forever, (2) life-time friends ARE family, and (3) new friends can be true friends, too 🙂
  5. Fight the fear. The twenties-decade is filled with NEW and CHANGE – so “fighting the fear” is inevitable, in my opinion. Shout-out to my college yoga instructor for teaching me how to hold myself in ways to physically calm my body down. Smile, breathe, and keep your feet planted on the ground! #yoga4lyfe 😉
  6. Manage your time, and money. Post college I’ve discovered that (1) I’m an “at least 8 hours of sleep person” and (2) now I have to pay for everythinggg including toilet paper. I’m working on time-management and money-management but I think both of these areas could use lifelong assessment and improvement.
  7. Breathe. Back to yoga! Beth’s point in this item was not to be too hard on yourself; this is important for me to hear! Being a twenty-something means I am still establishing myself and grounding myself, so I can-and should-give myself grace. Noted.

    Livin the twenty-somethin dream, right here.

    Livin the twenty-somethin dream, right here.

  8. Be independent. Honest moment, coming right up. I honestly think I am too independent in some areas of life… but in others I’m probably still too dependent. As in so many things, balance is key here.
  9. Be vulnerable. *Insert Secondhand Serenade song here because if you’re in your twenties you totally jammed to that song in high school or college.* Humbly asking for advice or taking responsibility for the mistakes I make is a big deal-sometimes easier said than done but important nonetheless.

    IMG_1951

    Striking a pose as all 23 year old besties should.

  10. Have fun. No wonder I love this article! Affirmation to work hard, and play hard too. Excellent.
Leave a Reply

