My First Day At The Gym Was Scarier Than My First Day Of High School

Health

I had no clue what I was getting into when I walked into the gym! I never priced out gyms or considered other options. I just walked in and said I wanted to join.

Part of the sign-up process was scheduling a meeting about personal training.

[I have a thing when it comes to sales – I feel like I’m being manipulated. You know at the Buckle how the employees have to set goals for what they’re gonna sell each day? I’m all, “can I try on this shirt” and they’re all, “sure but you have to try on this belt too because it would look amazinggg with the shirt.” Um…]

Turns out the guy I talked to was not your typical salesman. He was, however, your typical gym manager. Picture a tall man wearing sweatpants and a sweatshirt, and a baseball hat (and he obviously has a beard, too). He says, “All girls freaking do at the gym is go on the elliptical or tread mill” [I’m thinking: that’s what I’m planning to do] “and freaking diet” [I’m also thinking: yeah I was gonna try that too] “and they freaking expect to get RESULTS” [why else would I join the stinkin gym?!] “and they DON’T GET THE FREAKING RESULTS” [Oh].

And in that moment I realized this guy had a point! And I was not about to waste time at the gym to yield no return!

But then he talks about the pricing. Training is freaking expensive.

This guy was real with me. So I decided to be real back.

“I really want to do this. I don’t want to waste my time at the gym and get no results. But it’s really expensive and I don’t know if this is a smart choice for me.”

So he replies, “Girls spend all this money accessorizing the outsides of their bodies with clothes and stuff.” [Being somewhat of a feminist, why am I agreeing with this guy?!] “Now you need to spend the time and money on the inside of your body–accessorize the inside of your body.”

Dang. This guy knows my life! He continues,

“You spent all this money on your mind-your college education. Now you should spend money educating yourself on your body-your fitness and health.

Now I want you to go home and think about it and take your time to decide. And I’m gonna give you a session with Steven because he’s really good with girls like you. And because all of Steven’s clients reach their goals. And you can come to the session or you can skip it. Just think about it; it’s up to you.”

I went home and thought about it. I asked family and friends. Of course, I received a variety of opinions. My family was supportive, though, and I ended up committing to three months of training with Steven. I would see him twice a week. I was given a cardio workout to do on my own, and I was put on a strict diet.

Spoiler here: the financial investment was one of my best investments thus far in life. What was such a tough decision initially became one of my favorite decisions I’ve made. But you know what they say, hindsight is always 20-20.

But forrrrreal. Can I get an AMEN!?

But forrrrreal.
Can I get an AMEN!?

2 thoughts on “My First Day At The Gym Was Scarier Than My First Day Of High School

Leave a Reply

