CMT Awards: My Review

Uncategorized

Super cool way to start the show. You see Jason Aldean being lifted up a stage elevator. There’s smoke and a whole bunch of lights and Jason’s singing “American Woman” with Lenny Kravitz. A very original way to start the CMT Awards!

 

We’ve got an intro video. Jason Aldean drops (literally) into “Dr. Kristen Bell’s” office, and she’s leading group therapy. We’ve got Reba and Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan and…this is funny!

 

Aldean & Bell are looking good-I think Kristen Bell is growing on me.

 

Taylor Swift acknowledged. Who’s her date? Maybe her brother?

 

Carrie Underwood acknowledged, and she’s looking good with her husband Mike Fisher.

 

First award of the night presented by Kellie Pickler and Scotty McCreery. A joke is made about dancing. Scotty, “I just can’t dance.” I’m not a fan of Kellie’s dress but they do look good. Breakthrough Video of the Year is presented, and a lot of videos are good options. Florida Georgia Line wins with “Cruise.” I’m good with this. Other ones I liked “Why You Wanna” (Jana Kramer) and “Merry Go Round” (Kacey Musgraves). Lots of gratitude given by FGL-a nice acceptance speech.

 

Finalists for Video of the Year are announced and my vote is Blown Away (Carrie Underwood) or Mama’s Broken Heart (Miranda Lambert). Definitely not Taylor Swift for We Are Never Ever Back Together; that video is straight weird (#sorrynotsorry).

 

Miranda’s singing Mama’s Broken Heart live. She looks really good! I see she’s holding a pink microphone. Nice. I really like this song; I think she’s done better performances but I like the “bad girl” vibe she’s giving off—fits good with the song. Miranda laughs at the end of the song. Love her.

 

A live performace from Kacey Musgraves. She looks really cute in a jean jacket and shorts. She’s singing “Blowin’ Smoke” and rocking it with her American Flag tank top and blue boots. Like all of her songs, she makes this performance seem airy and effortless. She doesn’t seem nervous which is particularly impressive for a newbie like her. Sweet.

 

Kristen Bell is back up and this time with a black dress. She announced DOG AND BETH (whoever they are) and they’re introducing Performance of the Year. Miranda Lambert wins with “Over You.” She thanked Blake and the fans and I really appreciate how genuine Miranda can be.

 

Florida Georgia Line announced Darius Rucker, our next singer performing “Wagon Wheel.” Love it! Darius pops out of the crowd and begins singing—strongly—while walking down stairs and greeting a whole bunch of fans. His performance is simple but still really great. Everybody loves “Wagon Wheel” and he’s rockin it.

 

All of the sudden we’ve got an acapella sing-along of Wagon Wheel, led by Darius with Lady Antebellum. Whoa. Cool.

 

Hunter Hayes isn’t even at the awards but he’s performing “I Want Crazy” outside among a large crowd of teenage girls in colorful sunglasses. Not sure if I’m more intrigued by Hunter’s energy or the heart shaped “CRAZY” sunglasses all the fans are wearing.

 

Luke Bryan isn’t there either,  but he was announced as he ran onto a stage of his own in a basement-bar looking place. He’s singing to a small (and very lucky) crowd my current favorite of his songs, “Crash My Party.” You would think the silliest die-hard fans would’ve stayed back with Hunter Hayes, but these girls are lookin like pretty serious fans, too. (Let’s be real I’d act the same way if I were that lose to Luke. Or Hunter).

 

 

From the basement stage, Luke announces Taylor Swift who is performing RED at the main stage. I do believe Taylor is becoming a stronger singer every performance. She’s wearing an interesting red dress and there are specks of red all around the stage, including people dancing around the stage with red flags. The performance is honestly weird, but I think it sounds really good, so props to T-Swift for that.

 

A reminder for the audience to Tweet about the #CMTAwards. One girl apparently tweeted, “Hunter Hayes wants crazy; I just want him.” I’d retweet that.

 

Collaborative Video of the Year announced by Larry the Cable Guy. The winner was a no brainer- “The Only Way I Know” by Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, and Eric Church.

 

I LOVE The Band Perry. Kimberly is looking stunning in a red dress, and the brothers are fashionable too. They announced Keith Urban who is singing “Little Bit of Everything.” The camera just showed his wife, Nicole Kidman, singing along from the crowd. Keith is looking very traditional in a tan collared shirt and jeans. He’s a good performer for sure.

 

Jana Kramer is up with Deacon from Nashville! I wish I knew his real name but it’s cool J Jana and “Deacon” are announcing “Duo of the Year.” My vote is probably Love and Theft but I like all the choices. The winner goes to Florida Georgia Line. Two awards for FGL this concert, but I suppose they do deserve it (let’s be honest; they’re everybody’s summer jam this year). The guys say, “We’ve got the best fans in the freakin world, this is amazing.” They also thanked their mom “for believing in us” and made a joke about winning a lot like Taylor Swift, Hah.

 

I have no idea who these people are, announcing Lady Antebellum. Weird.

 

About Lady A though: cool performance of “Goodbye Town.” There’s a video on the screens and Charles, Dave, and Hilary are all disbursed around the stage for the first verse; they meet in the middle of the stage and continue to rock the crowd. I love this group but I always think they can use another female singer. And yes, I’m volunteering.

 

Lenny Kravitz is back on the stage to announce Female Video of the Year. My vote: Mama’s Broken Heart…and Miranda Lambert is the winner indeed! I thought this was another no-brainer. Her video was brilliant, hilarious…and competition was low in my humble opinion. Another genuine thanks from Miranda. “There wasn’t much acting unfortunately because I got to act crazy…the only unfortunate part was all the drinking was actually iced tea.” Ha!

 

Keith Urban announces “our friends Little Big Town” and I’m more excited than most. LBT is my favorite and they’re all clad in black, looking really good as always. They are singing The Chain. Not sure why they aren’t singing an original song but I’d rather hear this than “Your Side of the Bed.” Suddenly there’s a bunch more smoke and Keith Urban comes up from the middle of the stage. He’s literally tearing it up on his guitar. Kimberly played the piano for a little while, and Karen has a tambourine in hand.

 

Love and Theft is singing “Angel Eyes” on a side stage—I think they desrve main stage but it’s whatever. They look good and sound good too.

 

Group Video of the Year is up now and there are some really, really good ones. Lady Antebellum wins with “Downtown.” I do like that video, although I’d like to have seen Pontoon or even Takin’ Pills win. Lady A gave their acceptance speech and I’m so impressed that Hilary is even at the show tonight; she’s pregnant and due in a month. That’s dedication, folks.

 

Jason Aldean is playing “Night Train” now! He’s wearing a flannel (ish) shirt, jeans, and a cowboy hat. We’ve got fireworks, folks. Cool.

 

Best Male Video as announced by Miranda Lambert and my vote is for Blake (“Sure Be Cool If You Did”). Blake Shelton wins!  Blake couldn’t be at the show, so Miranda accepts the award, “Honey, I’m drinking for two tonight; I love you!”

 

Rascal Flatts announced Carrie Underwood singing See You Again, dedicated to Oklahoma. Carrie’s wearing a very pretty pale dress, and pictures on the screens show a devastated Oklahoma. A powerful performance is given, both in terms of Carrie’s phenomenal voice and the emotional message. Red Cross volunteers carrying children and makeshift crosses are shown on the large screens among piles of Oklahoma devastation.

 

We’ve got an entire choir on stage wearing white robes; this sounds beautiful. The song is over and you can see Carrie’s lips, “God bless you, Oklahoma.” I am moved by the appreciation among the entire crowd. The Red Cross logo is displayed on the screen…. and a tear in Carrie’s eye.

 

God Bless You, Oklahoma.

 

Sheryl Crow and Kenny Rodgers are about to announce the next award; they’re singing a few lines and the crowd is loving it. T-Swift, LBT and others are shown. The biggest award of the night is Video of the Year. Nominations: Carrie Underwood (Blown Away) FGL (Cruise) Jason Aldean (1994), Luke Bryan (Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye), Miranda Lambert (Mama’s Broken Heart) and T-Swift (We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together). Carrie Underwood wins! 

 

The show is closing out with “the song of the summer.” I’m glad I guessed it—Florida Goergia Line, Cruise.

 

The show was great, and that’s a wrap!

Leave a Reply

