ACMs 2013

Wow, here’s  a beginning. I’m seeing Blake Shelton, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, and [I know I missed] a bunch of others all starting out with a solid song.

Hosts introduced: Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton. They’re looking good in black button-downs and jeans. A joke about Luke’s skinny jeans. Luke makes a joke about Nashville. I’m already lovin this.

“The folks from Duck Dynasty” are also here for the show. A joke about Zac Brown. Clever.

Kenny Chesney is up! Looking classic as always in a red cutoff, jeans, and the famous cowboy hat. He’s singing Pirate Flag, and fans all around are waving mini pirate flags. Solid way to set the mood.

Brad Paisley, Dierks Bently, and Hunter Hayes. At the same time. Outstanding In Our Field is the song. I missed a wow factor, but still-good.

Cool stage setup for this next performance. George Strait is singing Give It All We Got Tonight. He’s great live and genuinely looks like he’s having a good time. I’m not George Strait’s #1 fan but he did a nice job. I’m feeling like a straight up critic here… just waiting be be wowed I guess.

Okay, now I’m happy: Eric Church is up. He looks different! No hat, no sunglasses. Is this a first? He’s singing She Loves Me Like Jesus Does. Don’t get me wrong, this sounds good. But something about the videography is kind of weird- it appears that Eric is in black and white, but then there’s a girl singing backup with a red dress in the background. Hm.

FLORIDA. GEORGIA. LINE. Energy has entered the stage with Cruise. I can see some nerves through this performance, but they’re still rockin.

Lady Antebellum has some cool lights set up for their performance of Downtown. Let’s take a moment to appreciate Hillary and the fact that she’s going to have a baby in two-ish months yet she just rocked a stellar performance. Kudos!

Vocal Duo of the Year nominees: Big&Rich (That’s why I pray) FGL (Cruise), Love & Theft, Sugarland (Stuck Like Glue), Thompson Square (If I Didn’t Have You). Thompson Square wins! I approve (though I hope FGL wins something). The couple is looking really classy and extremely excited.

Here’s Brantley Gilbert looking very authentic in a black t-shirt and baseball hat. He’s singing More Than Miles- a good performance.

I shouldn’t even be surprised right now: a black Cadillac drives onto the stage, and Carrie Underwood steps out singing her current single. Perfection is here- Carrie sounds good and looks phenomenal…now add two real cars, smoke, and an awesome backdrop and you’ve got Carrie’s performance. Woah.

Album of the Year nominations: Blown Away (Carrie Underwood-and yes that album has blown me away); Chief (Eric Church- solid choice); Red (Taylor Swift- duh); Tailgates & Tanlines (Luke Bryan-there are some solid singles on there); Tornado (Little Big Town-I LOVE THEM). Eric Church wins with Chief! Not my #1 choice, but not my last choice either. Way to go, Eric. Eric is halfway back to his normal look-he put on his aviators but no baseball hat. Eric Church is a one-of-a-kind and I am happy for him that he won.

Blake Shelton has taken center stage to perform Sure Be Cool If You Did. YAY. I like that he’s in the midst of the audience. I don’t like his shirt. You win some and you lose some.

Please welcome The Band Perry. I wish I was Kimberly. I love what this band offers- energy, youth, edge, beauty, style, class… I’m so into this performance of of Done.

Jana Kramer is singing Whiskey. My roommate is psyched about it…I don’t think I know this song. Jana’s wearing a pretty dress and sounding good.

We’re giving it up for Scotty McCreery and he’s looking adorable in his plaid tie and suit. I was expecting to hear him sing, but instead he introduced the New Artist of the Year nominees: Brantley Gilbert, Florida-Georgia Line, and Jana Kramer. I’m not surprised-FGL wins! And well deserved.

Who wouldn’t be excited right now to hear Jason Aldean sing 1994. We could all do without the background dancers… but it’s whatever.

Group of the Year nominees (and me realizing I LOVE COUNTRY GROUPS): The Band Perry, Eli Young Band, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Zac Brown Band. I’d be thrilled with any of these BUT AM COMPLETELY PUMPED THAT LITTLE BIG TOWN WON I LOVE THEM THEY’VE BEEN MY FAVE SINCE I SAW THEM AT MY COUNTY FAIR IN HIGH SCHOOL Ummm I’m so glad LBT won! And I’m still envious of Kimberly’s fantastic curly hair.

Miranda Lambert Mama’s Broken Heart Yes Please And Thank You. (Side note if you haven’t seen the music video, check it out because it’s fantastic). I’m loving the stage and Miranda’s ever-present sass. She tells it how it is.

Song of the Year nominations: A Woman Like You (Lee Brice); Even If It Breaks Your Heart (Eli Young Band) (I’m okay with this as long as we’re not referring to the music vid); Over You (Miranda Lambert)!!!; Springsteen (Eric Church); Wanted (Hunter Hayes). Our winner is Over You and well deserved. Blake and Miranda walked up together… love it.

Little Big Town is definitely among my favorite ever bands. I have to put that out there. However. I’m not sure what to even think about this vertically hanging bed during the performance of Your Side of the Bed. I’m actually not sold on the song itself, but this is definitely creative and a whole lot of weird. Beautiful, solid harmonies for sure. Hm.

Single Record of the Year goes to Miranda Lambert for Over You. Two awards for a well-deserved, very special song. Here come the tears. Genuine appreciation though. Nice.

The beautiful and classy Faith Hill joins the stage to announce Highway Don’t Care by Tim McGraw (“my ride home”-ha), Keith Urban, and Taylor Swift. I feel like Tim > Taylor; maybe it’s a sound thing? I’m a big fan of this song, though… so it’s all good.

John Mayer with Brad Paisley? Okay. I really am a critic. Not loving this.

Luke Bryan’s performance, happening now! He’s singing his newest, Crash My Party. I recently got the album but I’m not familiar with this song yet. I think Luke would melt my heart if he sung the proverbial phone book. Yeah I went there.

I don’t like this Kelly Clarkson song. But I will say she is looking really good and I’m relieved to see that she is out of her strange phase (for lack of a better explanation).

Shucks. I had to leave for a meeting and to take a quiz. What a bust! I hear that Luke Bryan won Entertainer of the Year, though, which is pretty great.

Altogether I enjoyed the show and I hope that this recap was at least somewhat entertaining!

 

 

One response to “ACMs 2013

  1. sar I must admit I was hoping you’d do a recap! I always look forward to hearing your thoughts about the country stars! :) this one made me laugh, several times!

Leave a Reply

